Suzuki Racing



Team Suzuki Press Office – August 15.

Motorcycle racing in India witnessed the dawn of a new era at the weekend when the Suzuki Gixxer Cup championship introduced the Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup qualifying series at Chennai’s Madras Motor Race Track second round.

Now in its second year, the popular single-make series – which uses the award-winning 155cc Gixxer SF – saw five days of racing alongside the Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship.

The Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup is the first-of-a-kind series which provides young and aspiring Indian racers a launchpad to the international racing arena. The first round of the Road to Rookies Cup saw eight talented young riders, aged between 13 and 16, compete in three races alongside the older and more-experienced novice riders from the Gixxer Cup.

The action began with an introduction and orientation workshop conducted by Suzuki and Red Bull for the ‘Rookies’ – theory classes, track ride through, sighting laps and practice sessions interspersed with feedback sessions from Suzuki’s highly-qualified team of racing instructors.

Thursday was dedicated to Free Practice for all riders – Gixxer Cup Open, Gixxer Cup Novice and the Road to Rookies Cup. While the older riders got a chance to accustom themselves to the new and improved braking set-up on the Gixxer SF machines, this gave the Rookies some additional time to get acclimatised and ready for the races.

The schedule included three races each for Novice, Rookies and Open riders; and which saw some incredible, exciting racing: Living up to its reputation, the Suzuki Gixxer Cup races did not fail to disappoint the spectators and the racers alike, with very close nail-biting finishes and amazing sporting spirit and camaraderie among the fellow competitors.

Race one saw Sachin Choudhary take the first position ahead of Varoon and Alexander in the Rookies category, while Amarnath Rajan, Antony Peter and Joseph Mathew made up the podium in the Novice category. The Open Race saw last year’s podium finisher Meka Vidhuraj take victory from R Rajinikanth and Vishwadev Muraleedharan in a very closely fought battle between four equally-talented riders who were separated by just seven-tenths-of-a-second.

The second race was the perfect opportunity for Sri Lanka Rookie Aaron Gunawardena to show his top form as he started the race from last on the grid (due to a crash in race one) and take victory by a 1000th-of-a-second.

The Novice category was won by Amarnath Rajan followed very closely by Antony Peter. Meka crashed out of the Open race, leaving R Rajinikanth to battle with Vivian Gladwin and Vishwadev Muraleedharan for the top-three positions.
Aaron made it a double by winning Race three in the Rookie category from Varoon and Alexander while Amarnath narrowly clinched first spot from Antony Peter in another thrilling Novice Race. The Open race saw an amazing comeback from Meka, who started last on the grid and eventually ended second after Gladwin and just a 10th-of-a-second ahead of Vishwadev.

All riders in the three categories were impressed and praised the new 2016 Suzuki Gixxer SF race machines with enhanced braking with front and rear disc brake and are eager to get back on track for the next round on September 1-4th at MMRT Chennai.

The Suzuki Gixxer Cup and Red Bull Road to Rookies Cup are organised by Madras Motor Sports Club (MMSC) and approved by the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI).

Gixxer Cup Image Gallery: CLICK HERE FOR PHOTOS

More information can be found on Suzuki India’s website: CLICK HERE

Rookie Race 1
Laps: 4
1st: Sachin Choudhary 9:19.705
2nd: Varoon 9:20.037
3rd: Alexander 09:29.225
Best Lap: Varoon 2:16.892

Novice Race 1
Laps: 4
1st: Amarnath Rajan 9:04.774
2nd: Antony Peter 9:05.213
3rd: Joseph P Mathew 9:06.261
Best Lap: Joseph P Mathew 2:13:281 (100.3 kmph)

Open Race 1
Laps: 6
1st: Meka Vidhuraj 13:28.003
2nd: R Rajinikanth 13:28.145
3rd: Vishwadev Muraleedharan 13:28.614
Best Lap: Vivian Gladwin 2:12:232 (101.1 kmph)

Rookie Race 2
Laps: 4
1st: Aaron Gunawardena 9:05.809
2nd: Varoon 9:23.893
3rd: Alexander 9:29.492
Best Lap: Aaron Gunawarden 2:12:772 (100.7 kmph)

Novice Race 2
Laps: 4
1st: Amarnath Rajan 9:05.810
2nd: Antony Peter 9:05.883
3rd: Peddu Sri Harsha 9:10.865
Best Lap: Amarnath Rajan 2:13.621

Open Race 2
Laps: 6
1st: R Rajinikanth 13:36:688
2nd: Vivian Gladwin 13:37:359
3rd: Vishwadev Muraleedharan 13:39.738
Best Lap: Vivian Gladwin 2:13:204 (100.4 kmph)

Rookie Race 3
Laps: 4
1st: Aaron Gunawardena 9:07.216
2nd: Varoon 9:23.711
3rd: Alexander 9:28.228
Best Lap: Aaron Gunawarden 2:14:348

Novice Race 3
Laps: 4
1st: Amarnath Rajan 9:07.142
2nd: Antony Peter 9:07.172
3rd: C Raj Kumar 9:08:101
Best Lap: Antony Peter 2:13:971 (99.8 kmph)

Open Race 3
Laps: 6
1st: Vivian Gladwin 13:32:558
2nd: Meka Vidhuraj 13:33:316
3rd: Vishwadev Muraleedharan 13:33.408
Best Lap: Vishwadev Muraleedharan 2:13:072 (100.5 kmph)

Powered by Midlands Performance© Suzuki Motor Corporation 2004-2018