Team Suzuki Press Office – August 22.

Team Suzuki World MX2 rider Bas Vaessen took the lead and the red plate in the sixth round of the ADAC MX Youngster Cup in Gaildorf, Germany on Sunday with a 1-4 performance aboard his RM-Z250 as Suzuki World MXGP rider Arminas Jasikonis was eighth overall in the Masters class aboard his RM-Z450.

A dry day gave both riders a challenge with hard-pack and slick conditions on the world famous former GP venue; Vaessen clearly improving his hard-pack skills rode smart in race one to victory, but in the second, following a good jump out of the start, got snagged-up with another rider and had to play catch-up to the leaders.

After finishing fourth in race one, Jasikonis was penalised 10 places for jumping on a yellow flag in race two, knocking him back to 13th, but he still maintained his fourth place in the ADAC MX Masters Championship Standings.

The next and final round of the ADAC MX season will be held on September 17-18th at Holzgerlingen where both Vaessen and Jasikonis will defend their positions in the championship standings.

Bas Vaessen:

“Overall I’m pretty happy with the day. The first race went pretty well, a good start and I was up in the front. There were some good lines and I was looking for where I was faster. Then I found a place and moved to second. I took the time to follow, see the lines; and found a place to pass and moved-up to the front and won. Also in the second moto, I was good out of the gate but the guy next to me got his bike caught on the back of my bike, so I needed time to come back. When I finally got up front, the leaders where too far gone. I just wanted to play safe and not take any risks. I have the red plate now, so I’m looking forward to the next race.”

Arminas Jasikonis:

“I was feeling pretty good on the bike and on the track today. I’m still struggling on hard pack but we are working on improving. The first moto, I was something like sixth out of the gate and was passing some guys, but it was very hard to pass Olson. In the last lap, last section, I tried again but did not make it. In the second moto I was out of the gate in like eighth. I made some fast passes and went up to third place, but I was disqualified for jumping on a yellow flag. It was quite disappointing but nothing I could do about it.”

MX Masters Race 1: 1. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS); 2. Dennis Ullrich (GER, KTM), +5.610; 3. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), +12.401; 4. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki World MXGP), +12.895; 5. Harri Kullas (FIN, KTM), +26.995; 6. Filip Neugebauer (CZE, KAW), +40.677; 7. Lukas Neurauter (AUT, KTM), +1:00.488; 8. Christian Brockel (GER, KTM), +1:10.168; 9. Henry Jacobi (GER, HON), +1:11.826; 10. Mike Stender (GER, SUZ), +1:13.050.

MX Masters Race 2: 1. Max Nagl (GER, Husqvarna); 2. Dennis Ullrich (GER, KTM), +2.678; 3. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), +19.916; 4. Harri Kullas (FIN, KTM), +22.193; 5. Lukas Neurauter (AUT, KTM), +34.733; 6. Filip Neugebauer (CZE, KAW), +38.967; 7. Henry Jacobi (GER, HON), +1:04.938; 8. Petr Smitka (CZE, KTM), +1:14.474; 9. Jaromir Romancik (CZE, SUZ), +1:22.112; 10. Vaclav Kovar (CZE, KTM), +1:28.709; 13. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki World MXGP), +15.623.

MX Masters Overall: 1. Max Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), points 50; 2. Dennis Ullrich (GER, KTM), points 44; 3. Thomas Kjer Olson (DEN, HUS), points 40; 4. Hari Kullas (FIN, KTM), points 34; 5. Lukas Neurauter (AUT, KTM), points 30; 6. Filip Neugebauer (CZE, KAW), points 30; 7. Henry Jacobi (GER, HON), points 26; 8. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki World MXGP), points 26; 9. Petr Smitka (CZE, KTM), points 21; 10. Vaclav Kovar (CZE, KTM), points 21.

ADAC MX Masters Championship Standings (after 6 of 7 rounds): 1. Dennis Ullrich (GER, KTM) 190 points; 2. Harri Kullas (FIN, KTM) 186 points; 3. Thomas Kjer Olson (DEN, HUS) 186 points; 4. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki World MXGP) 143 points; 5. Christian Brockel (GER, KTM) 109 points.

Youngster Cup Race 1: 1. Bas Vaessen (NED, Suzuki World MX2); 2. Joshia Natzke (NZL, KTM), +1.679; 3. Stefan Ekerold (GER, HUS), +23.569; 4. Miro Sihvonen (FIN, KTM), +24.137; 5. Luca Nijenhuis (NED, KAW), +43.486; 6. Tomas Kohut (SVK, KTM), +46.836; 7. Michael Sandner (AUT, KTM), +49.413; 8. Nichlas Bjerregaard (DEN, YAM), +1:00.358; 9. Kade Tinkler (CAN, SUZ), +1:07.760; 10. Martin Krc (CZE, KTM), +1:16.480.

Youngster Cup Race 2: 1. Joshia Natzke (NZL, KTM); 2. Stefan Ekerold (GER, HUS), +1.095; 3. Miro Sihvonen (FIN, KTM), +3.331; 4. Bas Vaessen (NED, Suzuki World MX2), +23.624; 5. Martin Krc (CZE, KTM), +43.089; 6. Stephan Büttner (GER, KAW), +47.946; 7. Michael Sandner (AUT, KTM), +49.974; 8. Tomas Kohut (SVK, KTM), +50.736; 9. Nathan Renkens (BEL, KTM), +51.226; 10. Enzo Steffen (SUI, HON), +1:06.387.

Youngster Cup Overall: 1. Joshia Natzke (NZL, KTM), points 47; 2. Bas Vaessen (NED, Suzuki World MX2), points 43; 3. Stefan Ekerold (GER, HUS), points 42; 4. Miro Sihvonen (FIN, KTM), points 38; 5. Michael Sandner (AUT, KTM), points 28; 6. Tomas Kohut (SVK, KTM), points 28; 7. Martin Krc (CZE, KTM), points 27; 8. Luca Nijenhuis (NED, KAW), points 26; 9. Nichlas Bjerregaard (DEN, YAM), points 22; 10. Enzo Steffan (SUI, HON), points 20.

ADAC Youngster Cup Championship Standings (after 6 of 7 rounds): 1. Bas Vaessen (NED, Suzuki World MX2) 199 points; 2. Miro Sihvonen (FIN, KTM) 197 points; 3. Stefan Ekerold (GER, HUS) 175 points: 4. Luca Nijenhuis (NED, KAW) 147 points; 5. Martin Krc (CZE, KTM) 112 points.

Words: Yoline Cogghe.
Photos: Steve Bauerschmidt.


For more stories about Bas Vaessen, Click Here. For photos, Click Here.

For more stories about Arminas Jasikonis, Click Here. For photos, Click Here.

Follow Team Suzuki Racing
Powered by Midlands Performance© Suzuki Motor Corporation 2004-2022